you're reading...
My Masculinities Project Contribution

My Masculinities Project – Micah

I come from a family where masculine women are typical. All of my aunts played sports. All of my girl cousins play sports. My mom played sports. My grandma played sports. Sports are a big deal in my family, but sports are aimed more toward the masculine side of the gender spectrum. This why I believe I am comfortable in being a more masculine female-bodied individual.

I never really have been into sports as much as the rest of my family. In fact, I enjoy more feminine activities, such as music and art. The thing that makes me masculine is my choice of clothing: men’s clothes. Then again, people ask me, “Do clothing really have a gender?” and I easily respond, “No.” It is just the fact that most of the clothes I enjoy wearing are located under the sign labeled “Men” in a clothing store.

Because of my family’s way of life, gender was never really on my mind before puberty. I could do whatever I wanted because it didn’t matter whether it was a boy’s activity or a girl’s activity. My family would tolerate anything I did as long as it didn’t harm anyone and that I was happy.

Unfortunately, once puberty hit and gender distinctions became much more apparent and obvious, I became a little lost and confused. I was told to wear tighter clothes and makeup like the rest of the girls, but I didn’t understand. I didn’t want that. Why were they insisting I do it?

To this day, I have never regularly worn makeup, pierced my ears, worn high heels, etc. I refuse to do something that will stress me out or make me somebody I am not. Some may see this masculine aspect of me as weird. Some might label me as a lesbian. But as long as I am comfortable with who I am, both my masculine and feminine aspects, I don’t see a reason to pressure myself to choose a side.

About CSMMD Admin

The Center for the Studies of Masculinities and Men's Development at Western Illinois University. Research is clear that men are in crisis, particularly men from underrepresented populations. However, considerable disagreement exists about how to most effectively support men's engagement and development, while maintaining focus on social justice. The Center for the Study of Masculinities and Men’s Development aims to provide quality scholarship, advocacy, and programming that positively influences college men’s development in a manner congruent with gender equity and social justice.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

